Pumpkin Delight

Now that we are officially in the Fall season and it is starting to get cooler, my cravings for all things pumpkin begin to come to the surface.

I’m sure I’m not the only one in the world with this condition since there are so many pumpkin products out there in the market today. I have to recommend Trader Joe’s Pumpkin bread first, because it’s easy to make and oh so scrumptious.

This past week I made two pumpkin delicacies. In the process of figuring out what to make for dinner and skimming my Vita-Mix recipe book, I came across a gem of a recipe for “Pumpkin Spice Syrup.” Say what? And as a side-note in the recipe book, it provided that this was a great recipe for pumpkin spice lattes and chai-lattes. Did you read my mind Vita-Mix?

This recipe does not contain many ingredients which makes it quick and easy to make. I think I went a bit strong on the ginger or possibly the nutmeg because there was a strong after taste. Still delicious though! I’ve been enjoying this syrup in my lattes every morning, in part thanks to my Nespresso machine which in my opinion is the only coffee machine you need. It has changed my life… and maybe made me a coffee snob. ;-)

I also made pumpkin fro-yo but this one did not turn out as good. I think mainly because I let the mixture churn in our ice cream machine too long. It’s a little hard to eat but I think if I mix it with some water or milk in our Vita-Mix, that should soften it up for eating.

Finally, we picked out our pumpkin for Halloween! We are so blessed to have a farm by our house that supplies yummy strawberries in the summer and then pumpkins in the fall! Hall Family Farm in Charlotte, NC is definitely worth the visit.

Today we took several friends to the corn maze which took us about an hour to get through. It was two acres of corn maze and very impressive if I say so myself. They have tons of activities for children including hay rides, mini corn-maze, and a hay spider perfect for picture taking. They have many pumpkins to choose from and you won’t leave spending more than $15 for a pumpkin… and a huge pumpkin at that.

Not to mention, if you stop by, you CANNOT leave without trying their strawberry slushie and taking home a loaf of jalapeno cheese bread.

We haven’t carved the pumpkin yet but I’ll be sure to share when we do.

How are you celebrating this fall season?

PS If you want the Pumpkin Spice Syrup recipe, leave me a comment and I’ll be sure to share. :-)

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Delight

  1. I would LOVE this pumpkin spice syrup recipe! I spend a fortune on pumpkin spice lattes every year!!

    Also, that pumpkin bread from TJ’s is our new staple at home. I’ve bought tons of boxes of it to stock up for the year! Haha. Their pumpkin pancake/waffle mix is also amazing. :)

    • I hear ya girl. You and me both! I can’t get enough of everything pumpkin during this season and that especially means pumpkin spice lattes.

      Here’s the recipe:

      1 1/4 cups water
      1/2 cup pumpkin puree (fresh or canned) – I used organic canned.
      1/2 tsp vanilla extract
      1 tsp ground cinnamon
      1/2 tsp ground all spice
      1/2 tsp ground ginger

      I think I would use less ginger and all spice next time. I found pumpkin pie spice in my pantry the other day so I might even try that out!

      But you place all the ingredients in your blender or food processor and blend on high until you reach the consistency you want.

      My recipe book is for Vitamix and it uses the pre-set function for hot soup (so it runs high for a good 5 mins).

      I just store it in a container and put several spoonfuls in my coffee cup in the morning and pour your coffee over it. Can’t beat it!

      PS I’m going to have to try this pancake / waffle mix you speak of! Sounds delicious. :-)

      Hope you enjoy,
      Amanda

      • Hi Amanda,
        We recently purchased a Vitamix blender and my husband tried to make this recipe (twice) following it exactly as written, but it never got thick or syrupy. I see that you recommend blending it for a “good 5 mins” (instead of 3)… I’m guessing it needs to heat up somewhat to thicken, then? Perhaps we’ll try again.
        Also, I noticed you left out the 1/2 cup sugar… was that intentional? I wonder if brown sugar would be even better?
        Thanks,
        Terry

      • Hi Terry!

        I don’t remember putting any sugar in the recipe but hey sugar makes everything better. I would probably use brown sugar… a little more subtle than regular.

        I’m actually not quite sure how long the Vitamix runs on the hot soup pre-set but I do believe its about 5-6 mins. It’s set pretty high and it comes out steaming when it’s done. I also noticed that it thickens up when you store it. I think if came out a little on the runny side after I made it. But once it cools it should thicken up.

        Hope that helps! I’ll try it again soon s d let you know what I discover. :-)

        Happy Holidays,

        Amanda

Leave a Reply

