Looking Back While Walking Forward… It’s Possible

Happy New Year to Everyone! It’s officially 2013.

I feel like 2012 just flew by. I swear the older I get the faster the years pass by. It’s kind of scary. I’m already staring down my 27th birthday coming up this May and I am a little terrified. Only three more birthdays away from my 30th. How did I get here already??? Wasn’t I just driving down Johnson St. in High Point, NC dreaming of the day that I would leave that small town and start a new life somewhere else. And here I am. Now living in Charlotte. Married. Full-Time Job. Owning a House. This is all mind blowing to me for some reason at the moment.

Last year my new year’s resolutions consisted of get healthy and save money. ┬áThese still remain a struggle for me as it probably does for most people. These are two of the top resolutions for 2013 according to my local news. ┬áThese things are still important to me but that thing called life is slapping me in the face this year.

I hope to focus on relationships this year. Both family and friends. Building them, reviving them, and maybe finding new ones.

I also want to find my inner self. I feel like I’m still searching. I have yet to find that inner peace that I know awaits me deep down inside. I’m planning on doing yoga every morning and night accompanied with some sort of quiet time / reflection. As I get older, the fact that my life has purpose is screaming at me to get a move on and figure it out already.

I don’t know what makes this year special, but I feel that it’s going to be a good one. Even if it does involve some bumps along the way.

I hope to post more here and invite you all more into my life as I complete this self discovery process.

With that, I hope that each and every one of you had the most wonderful Christmas / Holiday Season and a Happy New Year!!

What are your New Year’s Resolutions?

P.S. I promise to post some Christmas pictures soon. December got away from me. :-(

Leave a Reply

