Learning to Be a Girl… Am I Too Late?

Going forward with one of my New Year’s Resolutions, I plan to write more and speak more freely.

Tonight I am inhaling a large cup of tea hoping that it will kick this cold right out of me. I have no time to get sick when I’m headed to Florida for work training in a matter of days…

photo 2

photo 3

Lately I’ve come to terms with the fact that I am NOT a girl’s girl.

Sad Fact: I just started painting my nails and I only own like four colors of polish. Has your jaw dropped yet? I now own nail scissors, nail polishes, and some sort of fancy file thing. I’m learning… 

photo 1

I recently purchased an excellent book with tons of great tips called “How to Look Expensive” by Andrea Pomerantz Lustiq. I know what you are going to say, SUPER shallow name title, but ahh-mazing book. It has great reviews on Amazon and is available on the Kindle so you don’t have to actually carry around a book with the title “How to Look Expensive” for all of the world to judge.

This book has changed my world. I have learned the appropriate way to apply makeup (dilute with moisturizer) and the magic of highlighters (not for paper).

This is becoming a new journey for me as I am trying to discover not only makeup and hair but also my style. If you were to ask me at the moment, my style would be comfortable. Do I want that to be my style? No. I would like to tell you that my style is sophisticated/classic chic but I don’t think that constitutes jeans and a sweater every day. Yes… that would be my current style: jeans and a sweater. Sad… I know (but comfortable).

So as I am nearing my 27th birthday and the 30 mark is looming ever so close, I want to be able to say I know my style. I want to know how to look the best possible given what I’ve got to work with.

Is that so much to ask for?

So as I move forward in this self discovery, I hope to provide you tricks of the trade that I pick up along with way.

Wish me luck… I’m going to need it!

Leave a Reply

