My Journey Into Veganism

So after watching tons of these documentaries I wanted to make some changes in my life. So I’ve decided to take a stab at going Vegan. Call me crazy, but it’s really not that crazy… just means eating healthy.

I’ve  cut out all animal products in my diet. Let me tell how hard that is. You would not believe the amount of items that contain milk. I even found veggie burgers that contained milk… WHYYYY!!!

This is coming from a girl who use to drink at least 2-3 glasses of milk a day, meat with every meal, and cheese on anything that would stand still. This is a HUGE change. I’m only on my second full week but I’ve tried a vegetarian diet since Jan 1.

It has been exciting, depressing, and enlightening all at the same time. I also found that I drink more water now (probably thanks to the flu) and that alone makes me feel so much  better.

I hope to do this for at least 6 weeks. I don’t believe in the processed vegan items like cheese, tofu, mayo, butter, etc. I will use them sparingly during this time but the point of veganism should be to eat real foods not replace bad foods with more processed versions.

Because of this change, I’m cooking more, eating more, and I have more energy. My fiber is up to 30 and 50 grams a day! I used to struggle to get 25 grams. Everything seems better. I’ve even lost 4 pounds (probably water weight) and gotten below 140 which I haven’t been able to do in over a year.

I can tell you however, that I’ve gotten a lot of push back. Crazy looks. Lots of questions. My mom even laughed at me. But thankfully I have the best husband in the world who supports me in everything I do. He is even willing to eat all my veggie meals and drink soy / almond milk lattes (which by the way… SO much better than milk). I cannot say enough times how blessed I am and how wonderful he is all around.

Everyone asks me why. That is the big question. There are many reasons why, but here are a few:

1.) I refuse to support the industrialized food industry.

2.) I want to avoid my chances of cancer, heart disease, and other health problems at all costs.

3.) I would like to support our local farmers.

4.) I want full energy and to feel good throughout the day.

Losing weight would be an added benefit to all of this.

I’m not sure how long I will hold this up but I plan to incorporate a plant-based diet into my long-term diet. I expect that I will occasionally have a good steak or burger, or a great slice of cheese but all in limited quantities.

During this time, I’ll share recipes that I have found and facts that I’ve discovered along the way.

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

