Bruschetta – Something You May Not Know

I have had a huge craving for bruschetta for the past few days. Just the though of that tomato and basil combo with a drizzle of olive oil and balsamic vinegar were enough to make me salivate.

I was on a mission at the grocery store to make my own version of bruschetta to conquer these cravings. I bought some roma tomatoes (although looking back I would probably get an heirloom tomato instead), fresh basil, red onion, and whole wheat bread sliced (the good kind).

After watching two quick videos off YouTube on how to make bruschetta I was off to the kitchen to complete my mission.

In the process of watching videos on bruschetta, I found one that explained a misconception about bruschetta. At least for me it was a misconception. Bruschetta is not bread topped with olive oil, tomatoes, and basil, it is actually the italian version of garlic bread. The chef on YouTube explained that bruschetta is merely the act of coating your bread with olive oil and toasting it on a griddle or grill. Then you can top it whatever toppings you want or just eat it along side a dish of pasta. Many times they scrape it with garlic (new technique… who knew!) to give it an extra kick. So bruschetta does not require tomatoes and basil? Still, I love me some tomatoes and basil… so here we go.

photo (1)

(Sorry for the awful picture, not doing a great job on photography at the moment)

Ingredients:

Tomatoes (I used 2 good-sized romas) 
Fresh Basil (4-6 leaves, depending on your need for basil)
Red Onion (2 Tbsps but I used more b/c I heart a good onion taste)
Olive Oil (For coatings bread and for coating tomato-basil mixture)
Salt (to taste)
Dried Oregano (1 tsp)
Balsamic Vinegar (optional; to drizzle at the end)
Garlic, 1-2 cloves
Bread (your preference, but baguette or some close version are best)
 

Directions:

1.) Slice up tomatoes and basil to your preferred size and throw in a bowl. 
2.) Mince Garlic and add to tomato-basil mixture
3.) Chop onion into small pieces then add to mixture. 
5.) Add olive oil, salt, and oregano. 
6.) Heat a griddle, grill, or stove top pan to medium heat. 
7.) Coat bread slices with olive oil on both sides and toast on both sides using the heated surface of your choosing. 
8.) Remove toasted bread from heated surface and coat with tomato-basil mixture. 
9.) Drizzle balsamic vinegar on top and enjoy!
 

This was such an easy recipe and such a delicious treat. I enjoyed mine with some cheap wine from Whole Foods. They have their own version of the $2 Buck Chuck however I think I am becoming a wine snob because I did not enjoy it. The delicious bruschetta made up for the mediocre wine. Next time, I’m opening my Bogle wine. Best winery ever. If you haven’t tried their wines try the Essential Red or Phantom. Both blends that are to die for. Love, love, love.

And… it’s all vegan. See, being vegan isn’t so bad after all. You still get to enjoy bruschetta (just after checking the bread ingredients). ;-)

 
Leave a Reply

