Fresh Eating

So now that it has been about a month after my vegan revelation, I can honestly tell you I am enjoying healthy eating. My only issue with the vegan diet is cheese. I adore and savor cheese. So with that being said, I figure as long as I do not eat cheese often, then I’ll still be on my way to the healthiest version of me.

Even Eric is enjoying the new diet and he is a former meat lover. His favorite meal at the moment is the naked burrito bowl where we make lime-cilantro rice, veggies, salsa, guacamole, and black bean burger topping. It’s so good that we have it almost every other week. Which I cannot complain since I am in love with guacamole and anything avocado based.

20130217-221422.jpg

I have yet to run out of recipes that are delicious and this has been an adventure finding new foods. I’ve reclaimed my love for cooking and I am proud to say that we use all of our nice kitchen appliances more often.

Vitamix is a great tool and I would recommend to anyone who has the extra funds to splurge. Worth every penny. Made a yummy sun dried tomato basil sauce to go with veggie meatballs, and pasta.

20130217-221457.jpg

With my handy dandy Breville personal pie maker, I turned my chicken pot pie recipe into a veggie pot pie where I did not even miss the chicken. The crust didn’t turn out as good as the previous but that would be due to the crust I used.

20130217-221547.jpg

My lunches have consisted of soups, salads, and wraps along with left over green smoothie from that morning.

20130217-221614.jpg

And when I get a craving for something sweet I turn to my large selection of tea from Teavana or vegan no bakes that are to die for.

20130217-221645.jpg

I’m feeling better than ever and I couldn’t be happier with my decision.

With that being said, Eric and I still enjoy the occasional the burger on special events or while out with friends.

I’m learning to not define myself by a diet. I will eat how I see fit and if that includes a burger one night or parmesan cheese on my pasta then I will. I am not one to succeed with limitations. I consider myself a free spirit that follows her heart. And my heart tells me to eat less animal. So that is what I’m doing and I’m one happy woman in my own skin.

Leave a Reply

