Jamaica – Clear Blue Water Vacation

This summer, we decided to venture back out into the Caribbean. We’ve been once before about two years ago on our honeymoon. At that time we visited a Sandals resort in St. Lucia. It was wonderful. Unlimited drinks, laying out by the pool, walks on the beach, delicious food.

After busy season this year I was so ready to leave Charlotte as quick as possible. I’ve never felt like I needed a vacation so bad in my life. And it really wasn’t that bad of a busy season this year. I used CheapCaribbean.com to book our vacation. A great website if you are looking for a deal. The earlier you plan, the better the deal. I did not plan ahead but still was able to book our trip for 5 days, 4 nights at $2,085 with transportation to the hotel.

DSC01670

The resort we stayed at was a 3-star hotel. Definitely did not live up to the standards of Sandals but for over half the price, I was willing to give it a try. And I was not disappointed.

DSC01678

We stayed at Sunset Beach Resort & Spa in a Bayside View room. If I could do it again, I would not do the Bayside View room. Not really much of a view and it’s an extra price too. Doesn’t make much sense. However, we were hardly in the room but to sleep so it didn’t affect my attitude on the trip.

DSC01669

This resort was more family oriented so there plenty of families with kids around. To be honest, I was a little concerned about this but to be honest this didn’t end up being an issue at all.

DSC01663

The food was pretty good. The omelets were the best part for me while Eric loved their jerk chicken. Some of the other guests at the hotel said it was better than the jerk chicken on the side of the streets. The drinks were pretty good as well. The best was the Jamaican Rum Cream. We ended up coming home two several bottles. Like Bailey’s but better in my opinion.

DSC01674

But I think the best part of Jamaica was the views. The water so blue. I don’t think I can stay at another beach that doesn’t have clear blue water. Even on a rainy day, you can’t beat the views of Jamaica.

DSC01742

We had a great time on our trip. It was a much needed vacation. Would I go back again? Absolutely for the price. I still however have my eyes set on the new Sandals resort in Grenada. And a much dreamed about trip to Italy next year. But Jamaica still has a place in my heart.

Where did you go for your summer vacation?

Leave a Reply

