SAVE THE DATE

“SAVE THE DATE” often abbreviated comically as STD’s.  🙂

At first I was going to do the usual, use your engagement pictures for the “Save the Dates” but then a good friend of mine showed me what another couple did…. and I fell in love. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a shame that I will not be using my engagement pictures ( I might try to slip in just one on the card, 😉 ) because they turned out fantastic. We had the best photographers (shout out time) ElizabethK. Check them out! And tell them that I referred you. I plan to use them in a photo presentation for the wedding.

So anyways, the idea is to use signs to spell out the words, “SAVE”, “THE”, and “DATE.” The couple used wooden signs which were super cute. So off to Michaels I go in search of wooden blocks, paint, and stencils. I get there and discover that they want around ten bucks a piece for some stupid wood! Outrageous! Not to mention the blocks they have were not that cute and not exactly what I was looking for.

So this is where I get some what creative. I decided to use the wooden letters D,A,T, and E. Bought some olive green spray paint at Wal-Mart to go with it. Michaels had spray paint but it was again expensive and not exactly what I was looking for. Wal-Mart to the rescue!

So on to the next item of business… “The” (yes I am going backwards). For the “The” I decided after making numerous trips all over Michaels that chalkboard sounded like fun. I found a simple chalkboard sign and figured I could use some chalk that I had upstairs. I restored a dresser upstairs with chalkboard paint so that now I can write welcome to visiting guests. 🙂 It’s the little things that make me happy.

Finally it’s time to figure out what to do for “Save.” So yet again another trip around all of Michaels, I run into these amazing things that look like clear paint cans. I saw them used in pictures for a friend’s bridal shower that I missed. 😦  I fell in love immediately with these awesome cans and plan to go back and get more to use for everything imaginable. So now what to do with these cans? I walked some more around Michaels and found fake moss! What a great idea, its green and brown and those are my colors. I can make letters to put on the can and it will stand out against the brown and green! Perfect. Finished.

*Please excuse the novice in the reflection of the can. Gotta work on that one.

So now I have all my pieces, it’s to work I go. I easily made the chalkboard sign. I spray painted the letters, and finally put the can together. I changed my mind on the can and decided to go with just the brown moss and added some home decor that I had instead of the green moss. I thought it turned out great.

Only one catastrophe during the whole event: no tape. So luckily we have a brand new Walgreens literally down the street from us so I stopped in and got tape to resolve the issue.

Finished Products (minus the letters which are currently drying):

I tried to get a shot with Bailey but he was not having it.

The photo shoot is tomorrow with my good friend Tapsi at Freedom Park and my awesome new camera. Hope things turn out well. I have a feeling we will be taking a lot of pictures. 🙂 I’ll share some soon.

Bailey’s contribution to the project. He supervised from above.

One thought on “SAVE THE DATE

  1. SUCH A CUTE IDEA! very creative. Now i’m going to have to go to Micheal’s and find a use for the clear paint cans too – love them! Can’t wait to see the finished product. 😉

Leave a Reply

