A Window Worth A Thousand Words…

So my “Vintage Window Project” ended up not being a “project” after all.

The original plan was to buy a picture and hang it above the mantle for decoration. I looked all over the place in search of the perfect picture. When I pick out art or anything for that matter, the “it’s meant to be” feeling is a requirement. No painting on the internet, art shows, or the local malls could do it for me.

I have seen in many blogs that I currently follow, the use of old window panes as art in several ways. The one in particular that caught my eye was displaying the window pane as art on the fireplace mantle. This seemed like the perfect solution since I was unable to find the perfect picture.

I finally found one on craigslist for $20 bucks. I was able to get her down to $15. Not bad considering art work is usually $100+ dollars. I couldn’t find a painting that I was in love with.

I saw the window pane idea, and it was love at first site. My plan originally was to repaint the window. One of the sections also had a crack in the glass so I had planned to knock out all of the glass as well. After thinking on it for a while, I came to the conclusion that the window pane was meant to keep it’s original character…crack and all.

The end result:

It makes me feel at home and adds an old vintage style to the living room. I love it more than any gallery artwork. Next post will be living room pictures. It’s pretty much done, just a few finishing touches to be done.

Happy Decorating,

Amanda

3 thoughts on “A Window Worth A Thousand Words…

Leave a Reply

