Not So Vegan No Bake Cookies

So this past Sunday I decided to get back to my roots and make some yumminess in the kitchen! I haven’t really baked in a long time. I love to cook/bake and have not really had time until now to do so. Well… I don’t really have time, but it sounded like more fun than getting labels ready for wedding invites going out this week! But alas I still had to print labels Sunday night.

Anyways… I follow this great blogger who is also in the Charlotte area: Designer Wife. I have to admit she is the one who gave me the inspiration to start blogging myself (I haven’t told her yet, :-)). Anyways, I remembered a while back she posted a recipe on some Vegan No Bake Cookies.

I’m all for vegan but at the time I did not have most of the vegan ingredients in my pantry. I also did not have cocoa powder. So instead I used unsweetened chocolate baking squares. Use what you have! Bethenny Frankel would be so proud of me. Haha

Step 1:Bring sugar, earth balance & soymilk to a rolling boil for 1 1/2 minutes.”  

As I mentioned before I had no earth balance in my house, so butter worked as a substitute. No soymilk, but luckily I had almond milk. Finally, I added sugar and the baking squares. I actually only ended up using 5 of them.

I brought all of these items to a boil and then removed them from heat.

Step 2:Decrease heat and quickly mix in oats, cocoa, peanut butter & vanilla.”

I had the oats and vanilla extract but no regular peanut butter. I find that peanut butter has too many calories and I cannot justify it anymore. I have since then found this wonderful product called PB2. It’s a product made up solely of powdered peanuts and salt. You add water till you reach the level of consistency that you like for your peanut butter. I use it for just about everything. It’s only 45 calories for 2 tbsp of peanut butter versus 200 calories for regular peanut butter. Not to mention, it actually tastes good to be so healthy! I think that makes PB2 a no brainer.  But alas, I had no original PB2 in the house, I just finished it off this past week. So Chocolate PB2 came to my rescue.

Step 3:Mix well and drop large spoon fulls on to wax paper or sheets of foil.”

And there you have it folks! Yummy, gooey, delicious no bake cookies. I have to admit that the hardest part of the cookie making process was waiting for them to cool.

It just makes you want to lick the bowl clean. 🙂 And you might be wondering, “where is that handsome fiance of yours during this cookie making event?”

Sleeping sound as a baby. Haha Isn’t he so cute? 😉 But of course I needed a taste tester, so I gently woke him up and let him know that he had cookies to test!

They passed the taste test! But what chocolate dessert does not? If my co-workers are lucky, they might be seeing these yummy treats soon!

Hope that you enjoy the recipe and make it your own. 🙂

DW’s Vegan No Bake Cookie Recipe:

2 cups unbleached raw sugar
1/2 cup earth balance
1/2 cup unsweetened soymilk
3 tbs. cocoa

1 tbs. natural peanut butter
1 tsp. vanilla
3 cups oats

* Bring sugar, earth balance & soymilk to a rolling boil for 1 1/2 minutes.

* Decrease heat and quickly mix in oats, cocoa, peanut butter & vanilla.

* Mix well and drop large spoon fulls on to wax paper or sheets of foil.

* Immediately enjoy one while warm & gooey… let the rest set until cool.

* Lick the spoon.

PS: I found the pink to be very appropriate. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Not So Vegan No Bake Cookies

  1. It’s basically the chocolate no bakes I make during the holidays, just a healthier version. I should give them a shot and not tell the husband what’s really in them and get his true opinion.

  2. Can I just tell you how flattered I am that 1.) You shared my cookie recipe and 2.) mentioned that I played a little part in you starting a blog? THANK YOU! 🙂 Look forward to keeping up with your happening around here!

    p.s – I actually live in Ballantyne, too! Small world!

    Linds

    • Awww, you are too sweet. I thoroughly enjoyed your recipe and so did everyone else! I love your blog. So thank YOU for writing! 🙂 PS – It is a small world! Ballantyne is the only way to go. 😉 We should get together for coffee or lunch some time! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

