Did Someone Scream for Frozen Yogurt?

A few weeks ago, I was craving some frozen yogurt. I’m all into Yoforia and all of the other frozen yogurt places that you find just around the corner here in Charlotte. It’s almost like they all popped up over night. You can find at least one fro-yo place in every mall here. Instead of ice cream you can be “healthy” and get frozen yogurt! Except for the fact that we all know that the toppings are what makes the frozen yogurt so awesome. Who doesn’t love some espresso fro-yo with brownie bites, reeces pieces, peanuts, and maybe even some gummy bears. I know I do! 🙂

I’ve attempted frozen yogurt once before with our ice cream machine. Word of advice: do NOT use Greek yogurt. Yes I was trying to make it super healthy, but sometimes you have to indulge. Now I opt non-fat or low fat yogurt when making frozen yogurt. The extra sugar is worth it! I promise. 🙂

I found this great recipe on Allrecipes.com for Strawberry Frozen Yogurt. It had pretty good reviews and I was at the grocery store at the time so why not!

I made one change to the recipe, instead of 3 tsp of vanilla I did only 1.5 tsp and the other 1.5 as strawberry extract. I wanted to get as much strawberry goodness into my fro-yo as possible.

*PS: Wine is not included in the recipe. That was for my personal enjoyment during the frozen yogurt making process. 😉 

First I mixed all the ingredients except the strawberries. Yet again my amazing Kitchenaid comes to my rescue allowing me to get the strawberries ready for the ice cream while everything mixes together.

Next, comes the Ninja that I used to puree the thawed strawberries. Yes I used frozen. It’s no longer strawberry season around here and the ones in the grocery stores just aren’t sweet enough. So I resorted to the frozen variety.

Here is the mixture with the strawberries blended in. Now it’s time for us to use the ice cream machine! I pulled out a frozen bowl from our freezer in the garage (we keep two on hand at all times).

Off we go!

Before:

After

Looks good right??? 😉 Then in normal fashion I have to have some assistance from that strong man of mine. He is excellent at scooping the ice cream into another container. I usually leave some behind but he makes sure to get every single possible scoop of ice cream out of the bowl.

And we are done! It was delicious and went extremely well with waffle cones complimentary of our waffle cone maker. Yes, you name the kitchen gadget/appliance and there is an 80% chance that we have it. We don’t use the waffle cone maker much, but it’s fun when you  have guests over. 🙂

What yummy summer treats are you making? 

Recipe: 

Frozen Strawberry Yogurt

Ingredients

– 2 cups fat-free plain yogurt

– 2 cups pureed fresh strawberries

– 1 (14 ounce) can fat free sweetened condensed milk

– 1 cup fat-free milk

– 3 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions: In a large bowl, combine all ingredients. Fill cylinder of ice cream freezer two-thirds full; freeze according to manufacturer’s directions. Refrigerate remaining mixture until ready to freeze. Allow to ripen in ice cream freezer or firm up in refrigerator freezer 2-4 hours before serving. Remove from the freezer 30-45 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

