The Modern Ballantyne Man Cave

This post has been way over due. Eric has been working on his “Man Cave” for a while now, but I think it’s practically finished. This was the one room in the house that I did not push my decorating opinions. The agreement when we bought our house together was that I had free reign on all rooms in the house for decorating except the Man Cave. This Man Cave is actually not a cave per se, but a bonus room on the second floor of our home decorated with all things manly and nerdy. 😉

The first step was painting. So I kindly asked my dad who is the Best Painter in the World 🙂 to come up for a weekend and help us paint. The idea was to do the bonus room and our master bathroom, but I had a meltdown and couldn’t decide on a color for the master suite… so back to the bonus room. After seeing Eric’s dad repaint his movie room to a brown color, Eric decided that was what he wanted as well.

Off to Sherwin Williams we go with a paint swatch that we want them to match. The color’s name: “Dark Truffle.” I think that was my favorite part, I love the name. Who doesn’t love truffles?

So my family came down Easter weekend to help us paint. And by family I mean, my dad because my sister, mom, and two lazy dogs napped while my dad and I painted and Eric went to get groceries for dinner.

Even Bailey didn’t help…. not that he would have been much help anyways. Instead he barked and whined while my dad and I were in the other room painting. At least he is persistent, I will give him that, haha.

Painting I think was the hardest part of prepping this bonus room.

Before:

After:

I was nervous at first about the black furniture with the brown paint, but I think it turned out good.

Next was the accessories:

Then….the projector and projection screen! The projection screen was a house warming gift of some family friends. We are SO grateful to them for the wonderful gift and will/have put it to good use! 🙂

And of course black out curtains and more Eric decorating.

Can you guess the theme? Football, video games, and movies. Eric’s three loves in life, other than Bailey and me. 🙂

Lots of technology too. 🙂

Eric in action, warming up the projector for a quick movie demo.

This is a terrible shot below but this is how we watch shows like “True Blood” now.

Just like the movies.

I think Eric’s Man Cave surpassed his expectations. The only problem….

This little one is terrified of the Man Cave. As soon as a movie or television show comes on screen and the bass starts to boom, he is out of there! Poor Bailey. Unfortunately he doesn’t share the same love for loud explosions as his father.

Man Cave = Success!

4 thoughts on “The Modern Ballantyne Man Cave

  1. Pingback: S’mores – No Longer Just a Campfire Treat | The Modern Ballantyne Wife

  2. Pingback: Football is Back! | The Modern Ballantyne Wife

  3. Pingback: Gallery Wall Completed | The Modern Ballantyne Wife

Leave a Reply

