Strawberry Popsicle to Finish Out Summer

As Summertime is coming to a close I wanted something fruity and light for desserts for the upcoming week. Last weekend Eric and I bought a freeze pop maker at Wal-Mart. Essentially it is just a frozen bowl that has molds to make fruit pops or any sort of frozen pops that you desire. The appliance is usually $30 in stores but it was on clearance that weekend for $15. I figured why not! I love fruit pops and it would be a great way to incorporate a healthy sweet snack and encourage me to forgo the ice cream. 🙂

I briefly searched online for recipes. I knew I wanted strawberry. So within five minutes I had a quick recipe for strawberry fruit pops. Have I mentioned how much I love the internet? It’s amazing how quickly you can find the answer to almost anything by using Google. I actually used Pinterest to be exact. 😉 It’s a great place to find recipes or anything for that matter.

PS Did you know there are Strawberry Margarita Pops? And Sparking Strawberry Pops that have champagne in them. Don’t you worry, I will be trying these out as well. Haha

So I took the recipe that I found and made it my own. I didn’t feel like measuring out things to a tee for the recipe. So instead I filled a bowl with frozen strawberries, un-thawed them in the microwave and then pulled out some sugar, water, and lime juice. That is it folks!

Step 1: Blend the thawed strawberries, sugar (I used 1/4 cup), water (1/2 cup), and lime juice (about 2 tablespoons).

Step 2: Put the mixture into the frozen bowl.

Step 3: Wait 9 to 11 minutes for the pops to be fully frozen and then pull out!

Step 4: Enjoy or store away for later. I decided to enjoy one now and store the rest for later.

I even had left over mixture that I plan to use later this week to replenish my batch. So overall I think the recipe made about 10 pops. Not bad! And it only took about 15 minutes to make the mixture and then another 10 minutes for it to freeze. That’s a quick dessert!

If you don’t have the popsicle maker, you can always go the old fashion route and pour it into one of those plastic molds and leave it in the freezer overnight. I always loved using those as well. Either way, a popsicle is a good way to finish off the Summer.

Can it be Fall now? What’s your favorite season?

Leave a Reply

