Wedding Details – Letter Ceremony

I wanted to share some quick blogs on my wedding details. I tried to make our wedding a unique event that was catered toward what we liked and what represented us the best.

I came up with this idea after seeing that many couples write letters to each other on the day of their ceremony. They share the letter prior to the wedding while each significant other gets ready for the big day.

I decided to take it up a notch and instead of writing letters for the day of the wedding, we wrote letters to each other that we would put in a box and open on our first year anniversary. We also had my grandparents who have been married for over 50 years write a letter with marriage advice. Then we had the officiant write a letter to us providing marriage advice as well.

On the day of our wedding the letters were placed in the wine box (since we got married at the winery) along with a bottle of our favorite Childress Wine.

The box is now displayed in our dining room along with two of my bridal portrait photos. We might even continue the tradition each year and write letters to each other each year, add a new bottle of wine and wait to open it a year from our anniversary.

It’s something to look forward to right? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Wedding Details – Letter Ceremony

  1. I loved this idea when I saw you were doing at the ceremony – and I didn’t realize that you guys wrote to each other too. Even better that you’re saving a bottle of wine with it! And I vote yes for doing it each year!!!! 😀

    • Thanks! Yeah… it didn’t look at the ceremony like we wrote them to each other. We were supposed to get them from two people in our bridal party and then put it in the box but it didn’t quite work out that way. Haha But I do plan on keeping it up each year. What else am I going to do with the wine box anyways, haha.

Leave a Reply

