Fish n’ Chips – Fried Addition Part 2

I told you I would give you a peek at some fried fish!

I have my parents to blame for this one. When my sister and I were little girls, my parents took a trip to London and Paris. It was one of their big dreams to visit the two cities. they came back with lots of pictures and memories to share. I hope to visit the two cities myself one day so that I will have stories of my own to share with my family.

The one thing that I remember most about their trip (other than the beanie babies they brought back for us) was their description of the fish and chips entree in England. Not sure if it’s something the locals would normally eat or just a popular tourist meal, but my parents raved about the “Fish n’ Chips.”

Now fried fish is of course a well-known southern delicacy as well but I guess it never really seemed to make an impact on my family until that memorable trip. The one thing that sets  the London version  apart from the southern fried fish is what you put on your fish. Malt Vinegar. While my parents were in London, they were served malt vinegar with the fried meal and then it was history.

Since then, I always coat my fried fish in malt vinegar. There is no going back once you’ve tasted the combination. It’s a done deal.

I have attempted fried fish so many times. It has come out mediocre at best. Here again, I find the wonderful magic of a deep fryer comes in handy.

Last week, I left work at 5 o’clock, which is a rare occasion. I thought of so many things that I could do with my new-found afternoon freedom. I decided to cook. After returning from our honeymoon just a week earlier, Eric and I have not had a real meal. It’s been sandwiches and take-out.

What better way to treat that husband I love so much, than to cook him a nice hot meal. 🙂 We had sweet potatoes as well, so I decided to pare the fried fish with sweet potato chips, freshly cut in my food processor.

I found some fish fry batter in my pantry so no need to make my own batter. Shake a way in the bag and you’ve got four battered fish, ready to be fried.

Turn on that deep fryer and add the oil. Once the oil is at the correct temperature, you can place your items into the fryer.

Our deep fryer came with two baskets so that you can cook two things at once. It worked out perfectly allowing me to cook both the fish and sweet potatoes at the same time.

I don’t have any photos of the final plate because I was too excited to eat it. I could take a picture of an empty plate, but who wants to see that? 😉

It was a successful dinner and one that I know we will be making again. I consider this my version of “Fish n’ Chips.”

Now I KNOW you are convinced that you need a deep fryer. Haha If not, just let me know, and I can give you a million more reasons.

Leave a Reply

