Paula Deen – Cheesy Biscuits

I have been meaning to make these cheese biscuits since my mom first made them last Thanksgiving. I finally took the time to look up the recipe and found them to be very simple to make. They also do not call for a lot of ingredients which makes the recipe even more valuable to me.

I was nervous at first about making these biscuits since the last time I attempted biscuits with a box of bisquick mix did not go so well. I think my problem was that I over mixed them. Again I remember my mom saying this recipe was very easy and if I my mom says so, it’s probably true since she isn’t one to take on a grand task in the kitchen. Luckily, she was right.

The recipe calls for the following:

Mostly simple ingredients that you would have on hand, minus the buttermilk. Don’t know about you but I hardly ever buy buttermilk.

First step is to mix together the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt (to taste) with a fork. Not sure how you can put salt in to taste at this point in the game but nonetheless that is what the recipe calls for. I know from making these biscuits that you should probably put in a decent amount of salt. I did not put enough salt in mine. Did not taste, so I guess that is what I get. Also not sure of the significance of mixing with a fork instead of the mixer attachments of the kitchen-aid but I followed directions anyways.

Next step is to add the shortening by cutting it. Not sure how you cut shortening but I just made sure to put a little bit at a time so that it could mix well. 

Note: I just goggled “how to cut shortening” and found a tutorial. Apparently you need a pastry blender. I think my method of just adding a little at a time and mix thoroughly with the kitchen-aid worked just fine.

PS You know you are southern when your Crisco tub looks like this:

This is mainly due to the fact that my famous chocolate chip cookies call for shortening.

The recipe tells you to mix the ingredients until it is the same consistency as cornmeal. I took a guess at what that consistency is and this is what I came up with.

Then add your cheese and mix. I may or may not have added more cheese than the recipe called for. 😉

Next you add your buttermilk. I had purchased buttermilk for the purposes of making this recipe. Unfortunately I found out that it went bad during the process of making the biscuits. I panicked for two seconds then realized that there is always a substitution for about everything in the kitchen.

As luck would have it, I found a substitution: milk and vinegar. One cup milk and 1 tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice. Didn’t have the lemon juice so I went for the vinegar. Put the two together then wait 5 minutes before use.

It worked perfectly.

Moving on! I added the buttermilk substitute and made sure NOT to over-mix the ingredients this time.

Using an ice cream scoop I plopped the biscuits onto a greased cookie sheet. It made a  good amount of biscuits.

Next you take your melted butter and glaze those biscuits with butter so that they glisten.

Bake those bad boys for about 14 minutes and you get the following:

Yummy cheesy biscuits. We had these along with quesadillas for dinner one night. No we are not random. 😉

They were definitely delicious and I can imagine that they would be even better with a nice winter stew or home-made soup. I hope you make these and enjoy them as much as I did.

I offer you the following recipe just in time for Thanksgiving. They would make a great item to take over to your family’s get together and have everyone rave about how much of an amazing cook you are! You can even tell them it took you all day and you had to roll them by hand. I’m not telling anyone! 🙂

PAULA DEEN’S CHEESE BISCUITS

Ingredients

2 cups self-rising flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon sugar

1/3 cup shortening

3/4 cup grated sharp Cheddar (I used a mexican mix; use what you have!)

1 cup buttermilk

Salt

1/4 stick butter, melted

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt, to taste, and sugar together using a fork; cut inshortening until it resembles cornmeal. Add cheese. Sir in buttermilk all at one time just until blended. Do not over stir.

Drop by tablespoonfuls, or use an ice cream scoop, onto a well-greased baking sheet. Brush dough with melted butter. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Paula Deen – Cheesy Biscuits

  1. Thanks for all the TRUTHFUL comments. But those biscuits are gooooooooood. I forgot about that recipe and will try it again real soon. But I will have to buy the buttermilk though. Smart of you to look up a substitute, I would have sent your Dad on my one missing ingredient grocery store run. HA HA

  2. YUM! Will definitely need to give these a shot. I like the buttermilk substitute idea since I would already have those items anyway – so I’ll probably just plan to use that instead! Also, loving the chalkboard in the first picture – cute idea!

  3. I am extremely impressed with your writing abilities as well as with the structure in your blog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it your self? Anyway keep up the nice high quality writing, it is rare to peer a nice weblog like this one today..

    • Thanks so very much! I checked out your blog as well and I must say it is one dear to my heart. I am a chocoholic. I am going to have to try out some of your recipes! 🙂 I took a standard free theme (I think Two Thousand and Ten?? and then added some personal touches). Hope that helps! Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

