Christmas Traditions Involving Gingerbread

This year was the first year that I have made a gingerbread with my husband. I have only made a gingerbread house one other time and it was with a group of girl friends. It might have been the ugliest gingerbread house on the planet. But that doesn’t mean we didn’t have a blast making the catastrophe.

During a grocery shopping excursion to Trader Joe’s Grocery Store, we came across a gingerbread house on sale. Eric knew the moment we stepped into the store (he saw it before I did) and immediately said, “Don’t even think about it.” Unfortunately for him, I stood firm in my dreams of making a gingerbread house this year and placed the package into the shopping cart.

(Picture from the Internet; I forgot to take a picture of it)

We finally made the gingerbread house when one of our couple friends came over to watch Sunday football as usual. The game was ending so we decided to pick up some fast Chinese food and then make our gingerbread houses.

They brought over their gingerbread house and we decided to make it a friendly competition. Although we never really voted it. Haha.

We love the fact that our gingerbread house is not even a full house. It really is more of a tee-pee. But it came with a small dog, so I was happy. 🙂

On the roof, I kinda lost inspiration and made a mess of it. So I attempted to turn it into a stocking. But as you can see it didn’t work so well.

This is their gingerbread house. The American style that actually looks like a house. Joe gets full credit for the gingerbread man with the creepy yellow eyes.

They did icicles off the side of the house. Which I love. I’m definitely not that talented with icing.

The side of their house looks amazing too. Very creative unlike my weird-looking stocking.

So there you have it. Two gingerbread houses. Who do you think the winner is? It’s a tough call in my book. Have you made your gingerbread house yet?

Leave a Reply

