First Attempt at Eggplant Parmesan

To start this post off, I have to inform you that my new favorite channel is UNC-TV. Since we do not have cable, I have found other ways to entertain myself. Surprisingly, the UNC-TV channel has a lot of cool programs. This past weekend I watched a show called “Flavor NC” which aires episodes on all things NC food related. The most recent episode informed me of a brewery called “The Weeping Radish” located in Currituck County. It’s a brewery, butcher, and german style pub. All food items are NC grown and the beer is made of almost 100% NC products except the malt (which they are currently working on).

Long story short, I watched a cooking show on eggplant parmesan. I have had eggplant parmesan only a few times previously and I have never cooked it myself. Apparently eggplant is really good for you and is also decently cheap in grocery stores which is a double bonus.

I purchased all I needed to make eggplant parm… mainly the eggplant, fresh mozzarella, and some tomato sauce because I didn’t feel like making any myself.

image

First you are supposed to sweat out the eggplant. Eggplants have a lot of water apparently and by “sweating” out the eggplant it relieves some of the bitter taste that it can have. The show I watched suggested either letting the eggplant sit for an hour or you can dip the eggplant in flour which I guess cancels out the bitter taste. I choose the flour suggestion because I did not feel like waiting an hour to sweat it out.

image

Then dip the floured eggplant in egg and breadcrumbs.

image

Once the eggplant was breaded I fried them over medium heat until browned.

image

Next comes the preparation of the casserole dish. I push a good amount of tomato sauce on the bottom of the dish.. Then placed my breaded eggplant on top of the sauce. Then the layer process begins with mozzarella cheese and another breaded eggplant. I added some wedge tomatoes and mushrooms that I happen to have on hand that I wanted to get rid of.

image

Smother everything and in tomato sauce and then throw it in the oven.

image

Since I really wasn’t going off a recipe I estimated cooking the dish at 350 for abbot 20 to 30 minutes.

image

It came out pretty good actually. I garnished it with some parmesan cheese because after all you can never have enough cheese!

One thought on “First Attempt at Eggplant Parmesan

  1. Oh that looks amazing!!! (And not just because I’m pregnant 😉 ) I LOVE eggplant parm but also have never made it. After seeing that last pic I know I’m going to need to give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

