Healthy Lunch Recipe – Chicken Salad

So I’m sure you are probably thinking I am crazy; chicken salad and healthy in the same sentence?? Why yes! It can be done. ūüôā

This new year I am focusing on living a healthier life as per a previous blog post. This includes diet of course.

I am a huge chicken salad fan. I have loved chicken salad sandwiches ever since I was a¬†little girl. Unfortunately, most chicken salads are super high in calories. Mostly because of the amount of mayo used in the recipe. So! I found a solution! A pretty nifty solution if I do say so myself. However, I cannot take credit for solution. :-/ ¬†The idea of the substitution was thought of originally by one of my favorite previous Real Housewives of New York: Bethenny! Yes I am addicted to the real housewives shows… don’t judge. ūüėČ

Bethenny Frankel came up with the concept of¬†substituting greek yogurt for lots of different things. The two main¬†substitutions¬†that I use it for are mayo and sour cream. Add a little lemon juice to greek yogurt and I swear you can’t taste the difference.

So with all this being said, the birth of this recipe came to be!

Chicken salad is super easy. You throw everything into a food processor and voila!

I like to keep my chicken salad simple: chicken, greek yogurt w/ lemon, salt and pepper, and celery. I have seen recipes with dried cranberries, almonds, grapes, and all sorts of other things. So be creative!

Mix all the ingredients to the consistency of your choice and you are done!

Package it up and store it in the fridge for lunch this week! That is my plan. My thought is to do lettuce wraps with the chicken salad and maybe one slice of bread. I eat way too many carbs.

So the numbers break down like so:

With light mayo and the ingredients that I used, you are looking at 622 calories to be split between around 4 to 5 meals. We will say 4 (I like to slather it on) – that is around 156 per serving. Not bad!

With greek yogurt used as a¬†substitution, you are looking at around 518 calories for 4 to 5 servings. That comes out to around 130 per serving. That’s a 26 calorie difference per meal and a total of 104 calories saved by using the greek yogurt. I know it’s small numbers but every little bit counts. Plus greek yogurt has more¬†nutritional¬†value than mayo.

I love using greek yogurt as a substitute for sour cream. It can really save some calories there.

How are your new year’s resolutions coming along? I hope everything is doing well!

Chicken Salad Recipe:

1 Can of Chicken

1/2 tsp of both salt and pepper

2 celery stalks

3 tbsp of greek yogurt

a splash of lemon juice (mixed with the greek yogurt prior to combining with all other ingredients)

Mix all ingredients together. Simple as that! ūüôā

One thought on “Healthy Lunch Recipe – Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

