Roasted Garlic Hummus

Today I wanted to share a new hummus recipe. I recently shared this recipe on my Facebook while reviewing my Google reader items. I wanted to save it and since “sharing” on Google reader no longer exists I now use my Facebook!

I have never roasted garlic before but I am here to say it was the easiest thing I have ever done.

The rest of the recipe is just the same as my previous horseradish hummus recipe and it turned out pretty good!

Now back to roasting garlic… literally all that you have to do is peel the outside layer of skin    (very flaky) but leave the inner layer (not as flaky) on the garlic. I assume this is to protect it from burning. Then you cut a little off the top like so.

Next you just wrap the garlic in aluminum foil in a muffin pan!

And the outcome that you get at 400 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes is:

While this was cooking the whole house smelled of yummy garlic. 🙂

Apparently you can just eat it after peeling the outer layer. Or you can mash it for cooking as well. I just threw the peel cloves straight into the Ninja to be processed.

Throw in all the other ingredients and you have yourself some tasty Roasted Garlic Hummus. I also threw in some parsley that I wanted to get rid of.

This will go great with carrots this week. I am trying to eat more veggies on a daily basis but veggies are boring and need some spicing up. So hopefully this will make my carrots a much more yummy snack! 🙂

Recipe: 

Roasted Garlic Hummus

1 whole garlic
2 tsp lemon juice (or more if you add more olive oil)
1/4 cup olive oil (or more depending on how creamy you want it)
1 can of garbanzo beans
2 to 3 tbsp of tahini
fresh parsley
Salt and Pepper to taste

Instructions: 

1.) Roast garlic as provided above; in aluminum foil at 400 degree for 30 to 35 minutes.

2.) Add all ingredients to a food processor and blend to the consistency you want.

3.) Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

