Common Things Found in My Home – Bananas

If you know me very well, I am sure you have heard stories of my husband’s obsession with all things banana. This guy eats a banana a day and if allowed will also eat a piece of banana bread or a banana muffin for breakfast every morning. He never gets tired of bananas.

So to quench Eric’s need for bananas we have started a new tradition of throwing old bananas from the prior week into bread or muffins. This past week, we were slacking on the banana eating and had a combination of six bananas left over. That’s a lot of bananas going bad! I really hate throwing things away so I decided it was time again for banana bread AND muffins. I used three bananas in the bread and three bananas in the muffins. The banana bread recipe came from my new Paula Deen cookbook given as a Christmas gift to me by my awesome aunt! 🙂 This bread is the best banana bread I’ve ever had and surprisingly does NOT have any butter in it! I know! I was shocked; not usual Paula Deen style.

After making the bread, I made muffins from a recipe out of an old church cookbook given to me by the women at High Point Bank and Trust that I used to work with. I loved those girls. Every time I bake from that cookbook (which is often) I think of them. 🙂 That is also the cookbook that has my favorite cookie recipe.

Of course you have to mash the bananas first. Then you add the sugar, 1 egg, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1/2 cup melted butter (or one stick).

I always mix the dry ingredients separate from the liquid ones. It mixed better once you put them all together. My lovely grandmother taught me this trick. It has now become a common practice in my kitchen.

Next you add the walnuts or even pecans to add a little texture to the muffins.

Finally, spray the crap out of a pan and throw them in the oven at 375 degrees.

I’m not sure the amount of time that I put the muffins in the oven for. The recipe I used was for bread and usually bread takes longer. These were jumbo size muffins and they took around 20 minutes or so to cook. I just checked to see when they were brown.

They turned out delish! A little of the muffins were left in the bottom of the pan so of course I ate it! They are really good muffins. Not exactly on the healthy side unless you do what I did: mix half whole wheat flour in w/ regular flour and cut out two tbsps of butter. That makes a little difference. At least in my brain! 😉 Luckily these will most likely be mainly eaten by Eric who  kills calories by playing basketball two times a week.

Banana Nut Muffins

3 Large Bananas
1 Cup of Sugar
1 Egg (beaten before putting into the mix)
1 Cup Flour
1/2 Cup Melted Butter (or a full stick)
1 Tsp. Baking Powder
3/4 Tsp. Baking Soda
1 Tsp Vanilla
 

1.) Preheat oven at 375 degrees.

2.) Mash bananas; add sugar, butter, egg, and vanilla.

3.) In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and baking powder.

4.) Add walnuts or pecans

5.) Pour in a greased pan and bake at 375 degrees for 45 mins for bread and 20ish minutes for muffins (or until golden brown)

One thought on “Common Things Found in My Home – Bananas

  1. I do the same thing with dried cranberries! Actually I made them into muffins yesterday go figure. Must try with bananas though, they sound delicious!!

Leave a Reply

