Carolina Blueberry Summer

Sorry I have been gone for so long. I’ll admit I’ve slacked on the blogging posts recently, but I’m working on it. I’ve been so busy doing things and I have so much to tell you all. I might even up the amount of posts per week! GASP! 🙂

I still have NC wineries to share, new home decor developments, and I promise to post a Wife Lessons soon. 🙂 But first!! It’s finally starting to feel like summer here in North Carolina so I decided to take a stab at canning.

We are so blessed here in NC to have all sorts of berries… all good for canning into preserves or jams. I fancy myself a preserve fan and fell in love with one at Tupelo Honey Cafe in Asheville, NC this past fall. I downed that blueberry preserve so fast, I don’t think it made it past the first week back in Charlotte. Unfortunately, they are no longer selling it online. 😦 Needless to say, I was devastated. But to my surprise they were so gracious as to include the recipe in their cookbook I purchased during my visit. Thank the heavens!

Since we finally have fresh NC blueberries, I found it time to try my first canning in hopes of restoring some blueberry goodness in my home.

The recipe is pretty easy to follow and canning was simple as well. The first step is to sanitize your jars. You boil water then place your jars and lids into the pot and boil for 10 minutes. Once this is done you will need tongs to get the jars out. I purchased a kit from Wal-Mart with canning utensils. Highly recommend.

After you have sanitized (or while you are sanitizing) you mix the sugar and pectin (looks similar to sugar) into a bowl.

Next, you place the blueberries and the sugar/pectin mix into a pot and start to boil. I was afraid that the sugar would burn so I stirred the mixture during this step.

When things start to heat up, the juice starts to flow. It smelled delicious.

Once the mixture begins to boil it will look more consistent and you bring it down to medium heat. Cook for another 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Finally after your 10 minutes are up, you scoop off any excess foam on top (don’t remember why) and then throw the mixture into your jars.

This is also where the canning utensils come in handy. The kit comes with a funnel to prevent messes. Once you fill all your jars you clean them off and replace the tops tightly on to the jars.

From here you let it sit till it reaches room temperature and serve or you can place the jars in boiling water (completely submerged) for 10 to 15 minutes to complete the canning process. This removes any excess air so that the preserves last longer. Without doing so the preserves will last 30 days. When canning it takes overnight for the preserves to set and thicken.

I haven’t opened a jar yet but I can assure you it looks delicious. This preserve goes great with steel-cut oats in the morning and tastes just like blueberry cobbler. Yum!

Okay, I’m going to have stop now or I will find myself running to the kitchen to open these preserves immediately. Make them fast while we still have fresh blueberries!

4 thoughts on “Carolina Blueberry Summer

    • Sorry for the delay in response! Geez I’ve been awful. But YES it does!! OMG they are so delicious and the recipe is SUPER easy. That cookbook is a must have in every southern home (or any home) in my personal opinion.

Leave a Reply

