What Have I Been Doing?

Wow… consistency is not my strong point at the moment. I swear I have been all over the place the past month or so with so much going on.

Eric and I are in the process of renovating our kitchen.

(Our Kitchen Right When We Moved In)

This started out as a simple, “It’s time to get granite” conversation and turned into “what if we re-do our entire kitchen!” Let me tell you what I have learned in this process… Buy a kitchen you love when you buy the house. Goodness Gracious! It is so expensive to renovate a kitchen. Luckily I like my floor plan but I absolutely hate the countertops (old white laminate w/ stains), our maple cabinets (very worn), and the retro backsplash we have. Replacing your kitchen is over $20K for a kitchen our size, refacing the cabinets is still around $10K and changing just the color is around $5K. Then you add granite and all that goes w/ it at $4K and add a tile backsplash for another $1K. Ohhh and you thought under-cabinet lighting sounded good… another $1K. Ughhh. So this turned out to be a more in-depth process than we thought… 😦

Secondly, I have fallen in love with a bedroom set I found at a furniture outlet store in Waxhaw, NC.

 

(Vaughan Basset New Reflections Set – I want the Mansion Bed w/o Storage)

Great price but Eric wants to change to a king size bed meaning a new mattress. Those things are outrageous too! Plus we would need to repaint the bedroom and the bathroom. Why do I try to take on so much at one time???

Needless to say we are still trying to figure out what we are going to do while my dream trip to Italy looks like its going to be another two years down the road. 😦  Can’t have it all at one time!

Next, I have helped my dad with his political campaign. He is running for Mayor of High Point. Pretty cool actually. I’m very excited for him but man is a campaign a lot of work! I helped him create a website and have assisted in taking photos and videos for his campaign. It’s been a lot of fun and I’m glad that I am able to help him. 🙂

Lastly, I FINALLY created my wedding album. Only took me a year into marriage! But I am so excited. One of my friends is assisting me in getting my dream wedding album made of leather. I never thought I would want a traditional wedding album but man am I excited for it to get here. I created the pages myself in Photoshop so I’m really looking forward to see how they turned out. It will be a while as they are handmade but totally worth it.

Well that is the gist of my life at the moment. I will post more soon on my new kitchen appliances that I’m sure you are dying to know about. Also, I FINALLY did a gallery wall. Not the one I originally started to do but one for Eric’s bonus room. I have pinned a lot on Pinterest lately so hopefully I will have more crafts to share with you soon.

What have you been doing?

Leave a Reply

