Is It Fall Yet? I’ve Got Pumpkin Fever

As soon as the pumpkin spice latte was announced I was struck by pumpkin fever. I was already struck by fall fever in early August when we had a week of fall like weather. It was glorious but such a tease since the temperatures went back up to 80 and 90 the following week. 😦

I’m ready to pull out my scarves, sweaters, and boots. I’m ready to sit outside w/ a glass of wine in the somewhat chilly air with the smell of burning leaves. Ahh I cannot wait! Fall is definitely my favorite season.

Is it too early to decorate the house like fall? Previously I have skipped decorating for Halloween just to give myself more time with my fall decor.

Regardless, I have had some pumpkin puree in my pantry for a while now that I had been holding out on to get me through these summer months. I decided to use it on pumpkin spice muffins to enjoy this week. At least I can enjoy the taste of fall if nothing else!

photo 1(4)

After making the muffins, I saved a little pumpkin puree to make myself a homemade pumpkin spice latte the next morning.

photo 2(5)

This recipe is super simple and you probably have everything except the pumpkin in your pantry (unless you are a pumpkin hoarder like me).

photo 3(1)

Since Eric and I are mainly eating vegan I substituted the egg for 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce and earth balance for butter. Also to make it healthier, I substituted the applesauce again for the vegetable oil as well. Finally I didn’t put the full 2 cups of sugar in them. Since I’m eating these mainly for breakfast, I don’t like when muffins are too sweet. Not to mention the 1/2 cup of apple sauce that I put in there should add extra sweetness as well.

Pumpkin Spice Muffins

Ingredients:

3 cups whole wheat pastry flour or oat flour
2 cups sugar
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted (or earth balance for vegan)
1/4 cup vegetable oil (or 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce)
1 egg (or 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce)
1 1/2 cups canned pumpkin (puree not pie filling; about 1 15 oz can)
1/2 cup water
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cloves
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups dried cranberries or raisins
1/4 cup unsalted walnuts or pecans

Preparation:
1.) Preheat oven at 350 degrees.
2.) In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine raw sugar, melted butter, oil, eggs, pumpkin and water. Beat for 90 seconds, or until well mixed.
3.) Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices, stirring until no streaks remain.Stir in nuts and cranberries; stirring only until all ingredients are mixed.
4.) Place muffin cups in muffin holders and fill 2/3 of the way full and bake for 20 to 25 minutes (check on them frequently though because for some reason they baked quicker than I expected).

 

How do you plan on celebrating the beginning of Fall?

Leave a Reply

