Where I Want To Be

photo (2)

I love the sound of rain. It’s the most relaxing sound to me other than a summer thunderstorm.  I hope with this rain comes  cooler temperatures ringing in the fall season.

This post is more a of a heart to heart versus a decorating or cooking post. More and more lately I’m asking myself if I am where I want to be. Where do I want to be? Am I there now? If not, how do I get there. Can I ever get there?

My ideal self (at least as of the moment) is healthy, calm, and active. Am I there? The answer would be a resounding no. I think I am on my way to these things (or at least some) but not where I want to be.

I envision in my perfect day I would wake up, work out, then meditate / quiet time, fix breakfast, take a moment and relax with a cup of coffee, then get ready for work. Sounds amazing right? Do I do any of these things now? No. Other than get ready for work. Haha. I would have to get up at like 5 am in order to achieve these goals. Is it worth it? I’m sure. But how do you get there?

I set my alarm every morning to work out. Every morning I hit the snooze. Am I not motivated? Why is it that I cannot get the will power to get out of bed. I know it’s important to me but I still hit the snooze. Sometimes I wonder if I’m hitting the snooze button on everything in life, just because it takes a little more effort than pressing the “easy button.”

And being the planner I am, I know these things will only get harder to achieve once we throw children in the mix.   But I truly believe that if I had this morning ritual, I would be closer to my healthy, calm, active life.

In addition to that, I wonder if my current job as an accountant is where I should be. Sitting in a chair in front of a computer for 8-10 hours a day is not exactly what I would call active. Again, in my dream world, I would open a gym and promote healthy living through exercise and nutrition. But with that would come sacrifices of money and time. So again, I  am complacent in my swivel chair and neutral colored cubical.

I hope by putting this out in there in the world that I will hold myself more accountable to obtain my goal of a healthy, calm, active life. Maybe I will put more effort into getting up in the morning and completing my desired morning ritual.

Where do you want to be? Are you there? How do you plan on getting there?

Leave a Reply

