Making Dinner at Home a Little More Classy: Flatbread

OMG… I hit the jackpot.

Just to warn you, there is going to be a lot of food posts going on. Maybe that’s a good thing? Maybe not. Either way… food has been a center of my life for a while now. I love to eat! What can else can I say. Eric and I have been doing a lot around the kitchen so hopefully I get the time to share some decor and DIY projects soon (note to self: take pictures!).

But this past week, I discovered how to make homemade, from scratch, flatbread. And…. it’s SO easy. I swear this may be my go to now. I need to make some ahead of time and have them on hand at all times. How super yummy and quick is it to create a flatbread.  You can put literally anything on top and it will be delicious.

So I did not do a good job of taking pictures of my actual flatbread dinner but I have a picture of the actual flatbread on the grill. Eric and I purchased the Breville smart grill. Great for those times that you waited to late to start the grill for dinner.

I found the recipe for the flatbread from one of my new favorite vegan blogs: Post Punk Kitchen. I think both our dinners last week were made from this website and I was not disappointed.

I didn’t end up making the full flatbread recipe provide by this blogger. Eric and I ended up sauteing some mushrooms, red and green peppers, and sweet onion. Throw it on top some homemade pesto and drizzled it with some flavored olive oil and balsamic vinegar I got from the Southern Women’s Show that visits Charlotte every year. It was delicious. But I could have just eaten the bread by itself.

photo (4)

Flatbread

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp Sugar

1 Cup Warm Water

2 Tbsp Olive Oil (plus more for bowl)

2 1/4 teaspoons yeast (or one pkg)

2 Cups Bread Flour

1/2 Cup Cornmeal (very fine grain if possible)

1 Tsp Salt

Directions:

1.) Add water and sugar to the bowl of a standing mixer fit with a dough hook. Sprinkle in the yeast and let sit for 5 minutes.

2.) Add olive oil.

3.) Add one cup of the flour along with the salt. Mix on low until well incorporated, and then turn the speed up to medium and mix for 3 minutes.

4.) Add another 1/2 cup of flour and the 1/2 cup of cornmeal, and mix well, starting on low and then switching to medium speed. Then add another 1/2 cup of flour, again starting on low and switching to medium. Knead on medium for about 5 minutes. (You may occasionally have to get in there with your hands if the dough starts climbing up the hook. It should become smooth and elastic and slightly tacky).

5.) Smother ball of dough with olive oil in a large mixing bowl. Cover the top in plastic wrap and put in a warm place. Let dough rise for about an hour, or until doubled in size.

6.) When dough has doubled, fire up your grill. If you have a thermometer, it should be at about 500 F or 450 F if using Breville smart grill).

7.) Punch the dough down, give  it a quick knead and tear it into 4  pieces. On a large cutting board, form each piece into an oval that is about 8 inches long and 5 inches across.

8.) Place the dough on the grill. Grill for about 3 to 4 minutes to get grill marks and become firm. Use tongs to flip the bread over and cook for another 2 minutes or so, until grill marks appear.

9.) Remove breads from the grill with tongs and place on the large cutting board. Keep covered with a kitchen towel to keep warm until ready to use.

Leave a Reply

